top of page

JESC 2020 | Australia drops out of Junior Eurovision 2020

Australia becomes the latest country to withdraw from the Junior Eurovision 2020 contest following COVID-19 travel restrictions. It is the first time Australia is not participating in the competition since its debut in 2015.

This move by Australia follows that of Wales, who officially confirmed their withdrawal from the contest yesterday.

Currently, 13 countries are confirmed for the contest, which will be held in Warsaw, Poland on 29th November. The 13 confirmed countries are:

  • Belarus

  • France

  • Georgia

  • Germany

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Kazakhstan

  • Netherlands

  • Poland

  • Russia

  • Serbia

  • Spain

  • Ukraine

Since Australia isn't taking part, let’s walk down memory lane to reminisce Australia’s past entries for the contest:

2015 - 8th with 64 points

Bella Paige - "My Girls"

2016 - 5th with 202 points

Alexa Curtis - "We Are"

2017 - 3rd with 172 points

Isabella Clarke - "Speak Up"

2018 - 3rd with 201 points

Jael - "Champion"

2019 - 8th with 121 points

Jordan Anthony - "We Will Rise"

What do you think about this news? Which is your favourite Australia’s Junior Eurovision entry and what genre of music would you like to see Australia send for 2021? Let us know in the comments box below.

#JESC2020 #Australia

Recent Posts
bottom of page