top of page

Norway | The first artists for Melodi Grand Prix 2020 revealed

The Norwegian broadcaster, NRK, has finally released the first nine artists set to compete in their national selection Melodi Grand Prix.

Here are the first five artists that have pre-qualified for the final on the 15th February in the Trondheim Spektrum:

  • Akuvi - Som du er (As You are)

  • Ulrikke Brandstorp - Attention

  • Tone Damli - Hurts Sometimes

  • Didrik and Emil Solli-Tangen - Out of Air

  • Sondrey - Take My Time

Didrik Solli-Tangen won Melodi Grand Prix in 2010, representing Norway on home soil and coming in 20th place with My Heart is Yours. Tone Damli also previously took part in 2009, coming second to Alexander Rybak with the song Butterflies.

Here are the first four semi-finalists set to perform as part of the Southern Norway region on Saturday 11th January:

  • Geirmund - Come Alive

  • Kim Rysstad - Rainbow

  • Lisa Børud - Talking About Us

  • Raylee - Wild

Kim Rysstad has previously participated in the competition in 2012 with the song Så vidunderleg. Raylee has also previously took part in 2015 with the song Louder. One of these artists will qualify for the final.

You can listen to the four songs in the first semi-final in the link here.

Melodi Grand Prix has been Norway's method of selecting their representative since 1960 apart from 1991 and the years they did not participate in Eurovision. Last year Keiino represented Norway in Tel Aviv in May, qualifying for the final and coming in 6th place with 331 points. You can watch their performance in the grand final below:

We also had a chance to speak to Keiino in Tel Aviv last year which you can watch below:

Are you excited for Melodi Grand Prix this year? Tell us in the comments below and follow us on our social media.

Recent Posts
bottom of page