top of page

North Macedonia | The EBU Confirms New Name Change

After eighteen years at the Eurovision Song Contest, fans will no longer hear the words, "The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia". It has been confirmed by the EBU that the country will be recognised by its new name of North Macedonia.

The changes have been reflected on the official website, although older news in the archives will still have FYR Macedonia name. The list of official countries present at this years contest will also show this change, as other various websites have also echoed this. This may come as a relief to some of the former Eurovision presenters over the years, who have struggled with the long name.

Today's announcement has come as a result of the Governments of Greece, and North Macedonia finally agreeing the change back in January, and now recognising it to be the official name of the country. The long running dispute over the title has now seem to have come to an end.

Check out Clara and Daniel discuss this years selected artist Tamara below:

This year, North Macedonia will be represented by Tamara who will perform her entry, "Proud". The official release of the song will be on Wednesday, and coincide with "International Women's Day". This has not been the first time that Tamara has flown the flag for her home country. She was a backing singer for Tose Proeski in back in 2004, but also sang for North Macedonia in 2008.

Are you excited for the reveal of the song on Wednesday? Are you happy with the name change? Please tell us your thoughts in the comments below.

Recent Posts
bottom of page