top of page

Australia | More Eurovision: Australia Decides Songs Released

We now have the full lineup confirmed for Australia's inaugural national final - 'Eurovision: Australia Decides' - and now we are starting to hear some of the competing songs in full!

The lineup for the national final is:

  • Alfie Arcuri

  • Aydan Calafiore

  • Courtney Act

  • Electric Fields

  • Ella Hooper

  • Kate Miller-Heidke

  • Leea Nanos

  • Mark Vincent

  • Sheppard

  • Tania Doko

With the national selection in three weeks time on Saturday 9th February, we are starting to see the songs released in full. Firstly, group Electric Fields - who teased their song with a live performance at a New Years Eve show - have released the full studio version of their banger '2000 and Whatever'. As the teaser suggested, the song is a pop anthem full of synths and beats which will be sure to have Australian's across the country dancing.

Secondly, 16 year old Leea Nanos is a newfound discovery for many fans and her song 'Set Me Free' does not disappoint! It is being speculated that the song was originally sent to SBS as a demo in the open call to songwriters however SBS were so impressed that they felt they just had to include both the song and Leea in the lineup! The song gives off mysterious and dark vibes and is also accompanied by an impressive instrumental. The mid-tempo ballad is very on trend and the chorus will definitely explode on stage!

A third also appeared online today - classically trainned tenor Mark Vincent who won talent competition 'Australia's Got Talent' back in 2009 - has dropped his song 'This Is Not The End'. As expected, it is a huge ballad that really shows off his incredible voice. It's very Josh Groban - which is certainly a good thing. (His song from the movie Troy is still one of the best songs ever released - right?)

Last month upon the confirmation of her participation, drag queen Courtney Act's competing song 'Fight For Love' was also released which as you could expect from Courtney is a pop smash and sounds very 'Eurovision' with a great party chorus.

The Voice Australia 2018 alumni Aydan was amongst the first to be confirmed for the national final and he has now released his song 'Dust'. It's a very current, on-trend mid tempo ballady style that reminds us a little of 'Beautiful Mess' by Kristian Kostov (Bulgaria 2017) with a level of urban that could be compared to Zayn Malik's 'Pillow Talk'.

Announced tonight as competing, The Voice Australia 2016 winner Alfie Arcuri is an Australian singer that actually featured on our wishlist when the national selection was first announced! He's bringing 'To Myself', an emotional mid-tempo pop song that is elevated by his fantastic voice. The catchy chorus hook is in line with what we expected based off his other songs. (If you haven't already, check out 'Love Is Love' as it will warm your heart!)

This is the first time Australia have opted to select their Eurovision participant via a national selection, previously internally selecting Guy Sebastian, Dami Im, Isaiah Firebrace & Jessica Mauboy since their debut in 2015. In this time they have never failed to make it to the final and SBS Eurovision will definitely be hoping that this new format will be a recipe for success.

Who is your favourite so far? Let us know in the comments below or via our social media on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram & YouTube for the latest Eurovision news, selection updates & exclusive video content!

Recent Posts
bottom of page