top of page

Portugal | Composers for Festival da Canção 2019 Announced

Tonight, RTP has announced the sixteen composers that will be composing the songs for Festival da Canção 2019 - the Portuguese national selection process for their Eurovision act. Similarly to the past two years, the majority of the composers were invited by RTP and now they have been selected will be able to approach and select the performer that they want to perform their song at the music festival. The winning act will go on to represent Portugal at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv, Israel.

The sixteen composers are:

  • André Tentúgal

  • Calema

  • Conan Osíris

  • D’Alva

  • D.A.M.A

  • Filipe Keil

  • Flak

  • Frankie Chavez

  • Lura

  • Mariana Bragada

  • Miguel Guedes

  • NBC

  • Rui Maia

  • São Pedro

  • Surma

  • Tiago Machado

In addition to the fourteen invited artists, Mariana Bragada won a radio show called 'Radio Masterclass' which allowed songwriters and composers to win a place at the prestigious music festival. Furthermore, Filipe Keil was considered the most promising public application and chosen to complete the line-up.

In 2018, composer Isaura invited Cláudia Pascoal to perform her beautiful composition 'O jardim'. As the host nation, Portugal automatically qualified for the final however disappointingly placed last in the grand final with 39 points. We absolutely loved meeting the pair in Lisbon - check out their interview with Andy from in Lisbon.

Are you excited for Festival da Canção 2019!? Let us know in the comments below and make sure to follow Eurovoxx on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram & YouTube as we head in to Eurovision season for the latest news, updates and exclusive video content!

Recent Posts
bottom of page