top of page

Estonia | Eesti Laul 2019 Participants Announced

There have been plenty of developments recently in Estonia about Eesti Laul 2019 – the long-running national selection show which will once again return to select Estonia’s Eurovision 2019 participant. Last week, national broadcaster ERR confirmed that 216 songs had been submitted and now tonight on prime time Estonian TV show “Ringvaade”, the 24 artists who will be competing to represent Estonia at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv next May have been revealed.

The 24 artists participating, alongside the name of their songs are:

  • Around The Sun - "Follow Me Back"

  • Cätlin Mägi & Jaan Pehk - "Parmumäng"

  • Grete Paia - "Kui isegi kaotan"

  • Inger - "Coming Home"

  • Iseloomad - "Kaks miinust"

  • Jennifer Cohen - "Little Baby El"

  • Johanna Eendra - "Miks sa teed nii?"

  • Kadiah - "Believe"

  • Kaia Tamm - "Wo sind die Katzen?"

  • Kerli Kivilaan - "Cold Love"

  • Lacy Jay - "Halleluja"

  • Lumevärv ft. INGA - "Milline päev"

  • Marko Kaar - "Smile"

  • Öed - "Öhuloss"

  • Ranele - "Supernova"

  • Sandra Nurmsalu - "Soovide puu"

  • Sissi - "Strong"

  • Sofia Rubina-Hunter - "Deep Water"

  • Stefan - "Without You"

  • Synne Valtri - "I'll Do It My Way"

  • The Swingers - "High Heels In The Neighbourhood"

  • Uku Suviste - "Pretty Little Liar"

  • Victor Crone - "Storm"

  • xtra basic & Emily J - "Hold Me Close"

Amongst those competing are 2009 Urban Symphony vocalist Sandra Nurmsalu, Grete Paia who competed in Eesti Laul 2016 and Uku Sivuste of Eesti Laul 2017. Swing/jazz band The Swingers - popular for posting covers of popular songs on YouTube - also feature winners of both Eesti Laul 2013 and 2014 in Birgit Õigemeel and Tanja as vocalists. Meanwhile previous winner Stig Rästa has written a song for Victor Crone who was featured in Melodifestivalen 2015. Viewers may recognise Stefan as being one half of 2018 superfinalists Vajé whilst Sissi is daughter of Eurovision 2001 winner Dave Benton. All in all - the list looks varied and filled with fresh talent!

With small changes to the competition including changing the number of participants from 20 to 24 – with there now being 12 performances in each semi final and 6 making it through to a 12 act final – it means more Estonian artists are getting exposure from the show and their shot to represent their country.

Eesti Laul has been used by Estonia as their national selection every year since 2009 following a successful debut with Urban Symphony who took Estonia to 6th place after 5 years of not qualifying. Since then, Estonia has also secured top 10 finishes in 2012, 2015 and most recently in 2018 earlier this year when Elina Nechayeva’s breathtaking performance of ‘La Forza’ reached 8th place.

All 24 songs that will be performed at Eesti Laul 2019 will be fully released on Saturday December 1st 2018 so stay tuned for more news coming soon!

Let us know who you are excited to see in the comments below and make sure to follow Eurovoxx on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram & YouTube for the latest Eurovision news, National Final updates and video content!

Recent Posts
bottom of page