top of page

Kazakhstan And Wales Join The Record 19 Countries Competing At This Years Junior Eurovision Song Con

In an earlier press announcement, the European Broadcasting Union has revealed a full list of participants that will be present in Minsk this November for this years Junior Eurovision Song Contest. In what has been a quiet build up, has led to the exciting announcement that a record breaking 19 nations will compete in Minsk later this year.

This year sees the highest amount of nations ever competing, showing that this young competition is growing from strength to strength. The full list of nations and broadcasters are as follows:

Albania (RTSH)

  • Armenia (AMPTV)

  • Australia (ABC / SBS)

  • Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI)

  • Belarus (BTRC)

  • France (France TV)

  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)

  • Georgia (GPB)

  • Ireland (TG4)

  • Israel (KAN Italy (RAI)

  • Kazakhstan (Khabar Agency)

  • Malta (PBS)

  • Poland (TVP)

  • Portugal (RTP)

  • Russia (RTR)

  • Serbia (RTS)

  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)

  • Wales (S4C)

The EBU released this video earlier via their official channel, highlighting the exciting news:

This year will see Kazakhstan be present for the first time, with many hoping this will help the country to secure it's place at the main Eurovision competition. Wales will be going it alone as they will be present at this years contest for the first time. The country already competed at the Eurovision Choir of the Year in 2017 finishing second. This announcement will lead many wondering will the other nations of the UK be going it alone when it comes to the contest?

As host nations Belarus will also be present, and hoping to make it a third win, matching Georgia's record. Both Malta, and Russia have also had the honour of winning the competition twice before. Ukraine, and Cyprus have withdrawn from this years contest. However, 2018 see's the return of France after a 14 year absence. They are also joined by Azerbaijan, who last participated in 2013, and Israel who were present for their second showing during the 2016 contest. The host broadcaster for Israel KAN are hoping to make it the double after Netta's win back in May.

Mr Eurovision, Jon Ola Sand, who is the Executive of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest has said, "We are delighted to have a record breaking 19 countries taking part in the 16th Junior Eurovision Song Contest....We are looking forward to seeing the next generation of young musical talent shine in the 2018 contest at the Minsk Arena in Belarus".

This years contest will be the 16th edition of the show, that has seen new talent emerge over the years. It will take place in Belarus for the second time on the 25th November 2018, and be held in the Minsk Arena. The country first hosted back in 2010, and prove they know how to put on a world class show. Russia will also be present at this years contest, and hoping to defend their crown after Polina Bogusevich convincingly won last year with her song, "Wings". Can they do it again?

It will be a very busy few months with the Junior Eurovision Song Contest news. Tell us are you happy with the list of participants? Please let us know in the comments below.

Don't forget if you liked the interviews and articles, subscribe to our YouTube channel, like us on Facebook, tweet @ on Twitter, # on Instagram, and continue to check our website out. Stay tuned for more Eurovision

news, gossip and interviews. Please do not forget to like and comment on our articles below.

Recent Posts
bottom of page