top of page

Ermal Mata and Fabrizio Moro win San Remo 2018!

One of key events in any Eurofan's calendar is definitely always San Remo, the contest which inspired Eurovision, and has launched the careers of such renowned Italian performers including Eros Ramazzotti, Andrea Bocelli, Laura Pausini and Gigliola Cinquetti. Tonight was the 68th edition of the annual music festival which has been running during the week, culminating in tonight's final show (the category for established artists)

20 songs and artists competed for the title, but in the end the night belonged to Ermal Meta and Fabrizio Moro with the song 'Non Mi Avete Fatto Niente'.

San Remo has generally been used as the selection method for Italy's Eurovision entry throughout its history, with some notable exceptions. In more recent years, Italy's Eurovision entrant has come from either the newcomers category, or as has been the case for the past three years, the established artists category. In 2016, the festival was won by the band Stadio, however they turned down the chance to represent Italy at Eurovision, with the baton being passed to Francesca Michelin with her song 'No Degree Of Separation'.

It has not yet been confirmed whether Ermal and Fabrizio and their song will go to Eurovision in Lisbon.

Recent Posts
bottom of page