top of page

Rasmussen Will Represent Denmark At The Eurovision Song Contest 2018 With The Song Higher Ground

It has truly been a super Saturday for the Eurovision community. With seven pre-selection shows and two national finals, many Eurovision fans have been spoilt. Tonight Denmark opted to find their representative through their national final, 'Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2018'. It has been announced that Rasmussen will represent Denmark in Lisbon with the song 'Higher Ground'. In doing so, they become the first of the Nordic nations, and the eighth country to announce it's act and song for the forthcoming Eurovision.

Tonight has seen ten artists compete for the honour of representing Denmark. It was a 50% public vote, and 50% jury vote (consisting of a five member jury) that saw Albin Fredy, Rasmussen and Anna Ritsmar advance to the super final based on the votes they received. It was however, Rasmussen that won the vote, and will represent Denmark with their song 'Higher Ground'.

Rasmussen, full name Jonas Flodager Rasmussen, is born and raised in the Danish town Viborg. He studied drama and music at Aarhus university, and is a teacher at Kulturskolen in Viborg in the area of stageart. He has performed in many musicals at stages in Aarus and Holstebro. He was also part of the choir which performed with the Rolling Stones at Roskilde Festival in 2014.

The national broadcaster DR chose to release it's songs on Monday 5th February 2017 giving fans a chance to chose their favourite. This has all culminated in tonight's show that has seen one winner.

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2018 was held in the 'Gigantium' in Aalborg, with the hosts being Annette Heick and Johannes Nymark. Tonight's edition has seen the 48th edition that has produced several Eurovision winners over the years. Can Rasmussen be the next one to triumph? The show is one of the biggest shows in Denmark's television calendar, and always gets high viewing figures.

Denmark is a relatively successful nation at the Eurovision Song Contest. In 46 appearances, the Nordic nation has won the contest three times. Since the introduction of the semi-finals back in 2004, the country has had an impressive tally of 8 out of a possible 12 artists qualify for the finals. Anja Nissen with the song, "Where I Am" did so last year. Could Rasmussen be the next qualifier and give Denmark its fourth Eurovision victory? Stay tuned to find out.

Rasmussen has won 'Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2018' and secured the right to be Denmark's next Eurovision entrant in Portugal. What do you think of 'Higher Ground'. Please tell us in the comments below.

Don't forget if you liked the interviews and articles, subscribe to our YouTube channel, like us on Facebook, tweet @ on Twitter, # on Instagram, and continue to check our website out. Stay tuned for more Eurovision news, gossip and interviews. Please do not forget to like and comment on our articles below.

#Denmark #DanskMelodiGrandPrix #2018 #Eurovision

Recent Posts
bottom of page