top of page

Eurovision Semi-Final Allocation Draw Results

Eurovision just got one step closer this morning, as a special draw was held in Lisbon's City Hall to decide which semi final the 37 semi finalist countries would perform. The pot also determined which of the semi finals that the "Big 5" would vote in, including host country Portugal. The semi finals will be held on the 8th and 10th May with the Grand Final on the 12th.

The first part of the process saw the "Big 5" finding out which semi final they would broadcast, and vote in. The Reference Group for Eurovision had already been in discussions with RAI Italy, and approved them to vote in the second Semi Final. Following Italy, would be France and Germany who would also vote in the second semi. Spain, The United Kingdom and Portugal were drawn to vote in the first semi final to be held on the 8th May 2018.

The second draw then decided which semi final the remaining 37 countries would perform in. These countries were separated into 6 pots which were designated to separate those countries who had traditionally voted for each other. This was based on historical data provided by the Eurovision partner Digame. It is hoped this would prevent diaspora and neighbourly voting, giving each nation an equal chance of qualifying for the Grand Final.

The Results Are As Follows:

Semi Final One:


  • Azerbaijan

  • Belarus

  • Belgium

  • Bulgaria

  • Czech Republic

  • Estonia

  • Iceland

  • Israel

  • Lithuania

  • Armenia

  • Austria

  • Croatia

  • Cyprus

  • Finland

  • F.Y.R. Macedonia

  • Greece

  • Ireland

  • Switzerland

This is the order that the countries will perform in.

Semi Final Two


  • Denmark

  • Norway

  • Moldova

  • Romania

  • Russia

  • San Marino

  • Serbia

  • The Netherlands

  • Hungary

  • Georgia

  • Malta

  • Montenegro

  • Latvia

  • Poland

  • Slovenia

  • Sweden

  • Ukraine

This is the order that the countries will perform in.

Semi Final Two looks like a particularly strong semi, with many Eurovision powerhouse nations performing in this one. Can Australia and Russia continue their 100% qualification record?

This year a total of 43 countries will compete at the forthcoming Eurovision to be held in the Altice Arena Lisbon. The "Big 5" and host nation Portugal will automatically qualify for the grand final. Who from the list above do you think will qualify? Please tell us in the comments below.

Don't forget if you liked the interviews and articles, subscribe to our YouTube channel, like us on Facebook, tweet @ on Twitter, # on Instagram, and continue to check our website out. Stay tuned for more Eurovision news, gossip and interviews. Please do not forget to like and comment on our articles below.

Recent Posts
bottom of page