Festival da Cançao Hosts And Jury Named

January 18, 2018


It has been a very busy time for Eurovision hosts Portugal today.  Details of the 26 artists have already been released along with further details of the semi finals, and final.  However, host broadcaster RTP have also divulged information in regards to the hosts of Festival da Cançao 2018, along with the names of the professional jury who will help select Salvador Sobrals successor.


The Hosts



The first semi final will be hosted by RTP in Lisbon on the 18th February 2018 by Jorge Gabriel and Joese Carlos Malato. Jorge is a well known game show host in  Portugal having hosted programmes such as Who wants to be a millionaire, the price is right and the vault. Whilst Joese is known as a television, radio presenter, copywriter and a distinguished college teacher.




 The second semi final will again be hosted again by RTP in Lisbon on the 25th February by Sónia Araújo and Tânia Ribas de Oliveira.  Sónia is a well know talk show hostess, and has previously represented Portugal in the Eurovision Dance contest 2007 placing 5th.  Whilst Tânia has presented Tour de Portugal, and hosted many musical programmes such as Songs of Lisbon, and has also been the co-presenter of MTV Music Awards Portugal 2005.



The grand final will be hosted by RTP at Multiusos de Guimarães in Guimaraes on 4 March 2018 by Pedro Fernandes and Filomena Cautela.  Filomena has recently been chosen as one of the hosts of this years Eurovision, and was the green room host of  Festival da Cançao 2017.   She is also known locally as an actress and is known to do theatre. Pedro too is a well known television host in Portugal.


The Jurors



 Júlio Isidro and Luísa Sobral are just two of the 9 person jury.


The Jurors for Festival de Cançao were also announced this morning and they are as follows:


Júlio Isidro

  • Ana Bacalhau

  • Ana Markl

  • António Avelar Pinho

  • Carlão

  • Luísa Sobral

  • Mário Lopes

  • Sara Tavares

  • Tozé Brito


There are some familiar names in this list.  Luísa is famous for penning last years winning entry for her brother Salvador Sobral.  Sara Tavares  represented Portugal at the contest in 1994, whilst Júlio heads the jury for the second year running.


Preparations for the Portuguese national final are well under way, will all this effort result in a successive win for the nation?  Portugal are bringing out all of their big guns.  Stay tuned to Eurovoxx for further information.


Don't forget if you liked the interviews and articles, subscribe to our YouTube channel, like us on Facebook, tweet @ on Twitter, # on Instagram, and continue to check our website out.  Stay tuned for more Eurovision news, gossip and interviews.  Please do not forget to like and comment on our articles below. 




Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

© 2018 by eurovoxx and eurovoxx.net | All Rights Reserved

All images and videos used on this site have been used in good faith, and are understood to be available in the public domain. All text published on this site is the property of eurovoxx and eurovoxx.net and is not to be reproduced without our permission. For queries or questions please contact us.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
RSS Feed