top of page

Kristian Kostov wins European Border Breakers Award 2018!

The Bulgarian representative on Eurovision 2017 in Kyiv - Kristian Kostov, brings another big success for his country. The young singer is one of the winners of the prestigious music awards - European Border Breakers Awards 2018 (EBBA)

The European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA) is an annual prize awarded to recognise the success of ten emerging artists or groups who reached audiences outside their own countries in the past year.

Kristian Kostov is the first Bulgarian singer to win the awards. Winners have previously included Adele, MØ, Tiziano Ferro, Lykke Li, Katie Melua, Damien Rice, Mumford and Sons and Dua Lipa.

Since 2010, an online vote takes place to choose which EBBA Award winner will receive the Public Choice Award, on top of the "regular" award. The first winner was Belgian singer-songwriter Milow. The winner from last year is the British pop star Dua Lipa.

The EBBA Awards were launched by the European Commission and are a European Union award. Since 2009, the awards are organised by Eurosonic Noorderslag and the award is presented at the Eurosonic Noorderslag festival. The nomination of Kristian Kostov was the initiative of Bulgarian National Radio (BNR).

#TeamEurovoxx offer huge congratulations to Kristian on this latest achievement!

Recent Posts
bottom of page