top of page

Dancing Alone - FYR Macedonia Participation Blocked By EBU

Mere days after RTP confirming that 43 countries will compete in Eurovision 2018, it looks like the number will roll back down to 42, as F.Y.R. Macedonia's participation at this current time has been blocked by the EBU.

EBU has said that due to outstanding debts not paid by MRT towards the EBU, as things stand they will not be allowed to participate in Lisbon, they however will be allowed to continue on with their participation in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Tiblisi, Georgia on November 26th. In a following statement from the EBU, it states:

"As a result of non-payment of debt, FYROM’s public service broadcaster Macedonian Radio Television (MRT) currently does not have access to the EBU’s Member services, including the Eurovision News and Sports News Exchanges, the right to broadcast specific sporting events, legal, technical and research expertise and lobbying services. MRT will also not participate in the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest as things stand but will continue to take part in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in November."

If FYR Macedonia do withdraw, and cannot compete in Lisbon, it will be the third consecutive year a nation has withdrew or been reomoved from the contest since initial conformation has been announced, in 2016 Romania were ejected from the contest mere weeks before it all began due to unpaid debts to the EBU, and in 2017 Russia withdrew after selected entrant Yulia Samoylova was banned from entering Ukraine after performing in Crimea in the past

Recent Posts
bottom of page